All IT Courses 50% Off
QA Interview Questions & AnswersQA Tutorials

What is Defect Life Cycle?

Once the defect is detected, it journeys through various statuses until it is closed.
Below are the major statuses of defect life cycle.

New: When a defect is newly identified and logged, it is given “New” Status.
In progress/open: If the developer accepts the bug and starts working on fix, it is given “open” status.
Rejected: If the developer doesn’t accept the defect and refuse to work on fixing it, it is assigned ‘Rejected’.
Deferred: If the defect is not affecting the product and is of low priority, it can be scheduled to be fixed in next version. In such case, it is given “deferred”.
Duplicated: If the defect was already raised, the status “Duplicated” is assigned.
Resolved/Fixed: When the defect id fixed, the status of defect is “resolved” or “Fixed”.
Retested: The resolved bug is assigned for “Retesting”.
QA Certified: If it passes retesting, it is set to “QA certified”
Reopened: If the retesting fails and it’s still a defect, it is assigned ‘reopen’ status and sent back to developer to fix it.
Closed: If the defect is not any more a defect, it is set to “closed”.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Get Python Course
worth 499$ for FREE!

Offer valid for 1st 20 seats only, Hurry up!!

You have successfully subscribed to the newsletter

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.

H2kinfosys Blog will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing.